There is a bridge between time and eternity; the bridge is the individual soul, the Jiva

Chandogya Upanishad

Introduction to The Chakras


Muladhara (red)

Root Chakra – Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.

Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food.

Located at the base of the spine, the first energy centre, sometimes called “the root chakra,” relates to our most basic survival needs and our sense of belonging, whether to our family or a larger group. When this chakra is clear and energy flows through it freely, we feel secure and confident that we can easily fulfill our needs. On the other hand, blockage in this area can cause us to feel anxious and worried.

This chakra, which connects us to the earth, gives us vital information about whether actions we are considering will nourish us or pose a threat. When we have a decision to make, we can listen to the signals of the root chakra: Uncomfortable sensations are a message to be alert and reconsider, while pleasant feelings indicate that a given course of action is likely to meet our needs for safety and nourishment.


Svadhisthana (orange)

Sacral Chakra – Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.

Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.

This chakra resides in reproductive area and is associated with creativity and birth―both literally to a new baby but also metaphorically to new aspects of ourselves, projects, and ideas. When this chakra is healthy, we are tapped into the source of higher energy that helps us write beautiful music, develop an innovative business, or create a loving family life. When this chakra becomes congested, we may experience a block in our creative powers and a sense of dryness or emptiness.


Manipura (yellow)

Solar Plexus Chakra – Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.

Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.

The third chakra, which governs our will, self-esteem, and sense of personal power, is located in the solar plexus. When energy flows freely through this centre, we are confident about our ability to manifest our intentions and desires. When the third chakra is blocked, however, we feel powerless and frustrated.


Anahata (green)

Heart Chakra – Our ability to love.

Location: Center of chest just above heart.

Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace.

This energy centre is sometimes referred to as the “heart chakra” because it resonates in the heart and relates to compassion and love. When the fourth chakra is flowing and open, we feel deeply connected to everyone in our life. But when it is obstructed, we experience loneliness and a sense of alienation.


Vishuddha (blue)

Throat Chakra – Our ability to communicate.

Location: Throat.

Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.

This energy centre is localized in the throat area and relates to communication and self-expression. the ability to voice our dreams. When our centre of communication is clear, we are able to express our truth without worrying about what others may think. In contrast, with a congested fifth chakra, we feel anxious about how other people will react to our views and are likely to censor ourselves.


Ajna (indigo)

Third Eye Chakra – Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.

Location: Forehead between the eyes. (Also called the Brow Chakra)

Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.

The sixth chakra, also known as the ‘brow chakra” or the “third eye” is located between the eyes. It’s the centre of insight, where we integrate all the information and intuition in our life. When energy is not flowing easily through this chakra, we have a sense of self-doubt and distrust. When it is open and clear, we feel deeply connected to our inner wisdom and trust that it guides us in our choices.


Sahaswara (violet)

Crown Chakra – The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

Location: The very top of the head.

Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.

This chakra resides at the crown of the head and is therefore sometimes called the “crown chakra.” It connects us to higher consciousness and pure awareness. The seventh chakra is known as the “Thousand Petaled Lotus,” which bursts open when we remember our true nature and experience enlightenment.

Chakra Tuning

In some Tantric teachings, each chakra has a specific vibration or primordial sound that we can repeat to release any energy that may be congested in that region. We can open up blocked energy by focusing our attention and intention on the location of a chakra and repeating its associated sound or mantra aloud. The following is a list of the energy centres and their corresponding vibrational sounds:

Base of Spine: LAM

Reproductive Area: VAM

Solar Plexus: RAM

Heart: YAM

Throat: HAM

Forehead: SHAM

Crown: AUM

The practice of sound healing is referred to as chakra tuning and helps heal the body and enliven the energy centres. We can tune all the chakras during a meditation session, moving up the spine. Alternately, it is also useful to focus on a single chakra related to a physical or emotional difficulty we may be experiencing. For example, if we have a nervous stomach and feel powerless about some issue in our life, we can focus on the third chakra and repeat the sound RAM.


image of the nadies:

photographic image: victoria-heath-a9NPN-bjHXE-unsplash

Related posts